Distinguished Service Award


At our annual Spring Association Conference, we present our association's Distinguished Service Award.  This award recognizes one of our members for their outstanding service to the Media Technology profession.

2020 Distinguished Service Award

The NY State Educational Media/Technology Association has been awarded to the Cattaraugus-Allegany-Erie-Wyoming Board of Cooperative Educational Services Team, the 2019 – 2012 Distinguished Service Award. Presentation will be at a later date. "It is without doubt that the dedication of the team leads to high quality programming for their teachers and each student throughout the region. Their example of shared leadership and collegiality is something we should all emulate."

2019 Distinguished Service Award


At the spring conference in Syracuse, NY, the NY State Educational Media/Technology Association awarded Katie Bertrand, Director of the School Library System at Monroe One BOCES, the 2018 – 2019 Distinguished Service Award. The award is presented in recognition of professional leadership, information sharing, creative services, quality of programs and professional service to the organization.

Katie’s approachable and understated leadership style has provided a solid foundation for EMTA throughout the years. She

provides guidance and support for new members and always makes herself available to help



Please use the linked ballot to nominate the person you feel has best demonstrated leadership and distinction for the criteria listed on the ballot.  As you are writing, you may wish to include phrases that would be appropriate to have engraved on the plaque. 

We encourage every member to participate in this important selection which brings recognition to our profession and distinction to the recipient.

Use this ballot to make a nomination.

Here is a .pdf version if you don't have Word.

The following people have been recognized past years:  

2018 - 2019 Katie Bertrand

2017 - 2018 Jim Belair

2016 - 2017 Doreen Bergman

2015 - 2016 Diana Wendell

2013 - 2014 Richard Dolph

2012 - 2013 Barbara Siemaszko 

2011 - 2012 Margaret Jensen

2010 - 2011 Judy Marsh

2009 - 2010 Deborah Booth

2008 - 2009 Linda Tyler

2007 - 2008 Frank Visco and Linda Nichols

2006 - 2007 Brian Jerome

2005 - 2006 Jan Orzel

2004 - 2005 Deborah Booth

2003 - 2004 Marilyn Patterson and Allison Wheeler

2002 - 2003 Bea Angus

2001 - 2002 Richard Dolph and Marie Sharp

2000 - 2001 Brian Parker

1999 - 2000 Dick Rankin and Ray Strauber

1998 - 1999 Tony Gulla and Don Wilson

1997 - 1998 Sylvia Sallustio

1996- 1998 Gerry Cummings

1995 - 1996 Robert Manyell



     Suzanne Farrell

     Penny Lester

     Janet Bohl

     Joe Price