Media Literacy Project Grant

We are Proud to Announce the 2021 Media Literacy Project Grant Application!

The application deadline of December 15, 2020 has passed.

About the Grant:

The New York State Educational Media/Technology Association provides up to two annual Media Literacy Grants in the amount of $1,250 for certified teachers in New York State who are working with Pre-K-12 students on media literacy.  Eligible educators must work in a district that participates in the media service at a BOCES or Big 5 that is an EMTA member. Media Literacy is defined as the ability to comprehend, design, and produce media. It includes critical thinking skills used to evaluate and analyze information in a variety of formats. Media Literacy is essential to be able to distinguish between fact and fiction.

The purposes of the grant are to:

  • Support educators who provide resources and services that correlate to state and national learning standards for instructional excellence promoting media literacy.

  • To provide funds for research projects or demonstration projects that can be replicated in other areas across the state and nation.

Examples include:

  • A film literacy course held after school

  • Learning about the effective creation and use of media in student work

  • Using video effectively in your lesson plans

Our 2019 Media Literacy Project Grant Recipients!


Julia DeMaio, Connetquot Central School District

Michael Neumire, Monroe 2-Orleans BOCES

Jessica Jacobs-Broedel, Morrisville-Eaton Central Schools


Our 2018 Media Literacy Project Grant Recipients!


Congratulations to: 


Shauna Stiles of Maine-Endwell Middle/Sr. High School


The  project proposed in this grant will be multifaceted, and correlates to media literacy in a culminating public service announcement in support of recycling and waste management.    


The upcycled robot project is cross curricular and will have collaboration between elementary school and high  school students. Robot ideas originally created by students in the elementary school will be interpreted by high  school sculpture students. The end result will be large scale upcycled robots using waste and garbage as the base medium.  Lists of the materials found and reused will be sent to the elementary school and students will research facts about the material and its relationship to the environment.  While the robots are constructed, a time lapsed video will be made of the production phase. This video will be sent to the elementary level so their waste facts can be embedded throughout the video.  A main point or saying about the need to recycle will end the video with stills of each sculpture.


The video will be seen on many platforms in the month of April for Earth Day.  Some of the social media sites and websites that will broadcast the video are:  Instagram, YouTube, Facebook, district websites, and news media. Each sculpture will be put on display around the district with QR codes that link to the video.  It is my hope to have some of the robots on display in businesses as well as the four schools.











Leslie Cartier of Baker High School


This project is to develop an elective film course within the English Department at our High School tentatively titled, “Critical Approaches to Film” that will teach students both how to analyze film, and how to effectively create and use media in their own video productions.  


By learning how to analyze and evaluate film, students will strengthen and enhance critical media literacy skills. In fact, there is no better method for students to acquire core communication competencies than to learn how to effectively create media themselves.  Pending District level approval, this course will be offered for the first time during the 2019-2020 school year.


View the grant presentation here:​






Past Grant Recipients: 



  • Shauna Stiles, Maine-Endwell Middle/Sr. High School, Maine-Endwell CSD

  • Leslie Cartier, Baker High School, Baldwinsville CSD


  • Lindsay Cesari, Durgee Jr. High, Baldwinsville CSD

  • Tonya Lackey, Westport CSD

  • Christine Santimaw, P.V. Moore High School, Central Square CSD



  • Roma Mattott, South Lewis High School

  • Karen Tomidy & Laura Hann, Attica High School: Stream Team

  • Amelia White & Ellen Richmond, Letchworth High School

2015-16: Tina Laramie, Vernon-Verona-Sherrill High School

2014-15: Lisa LaBrake et. al., Sweet Home High School




  • Mary Alice Brunell & Rory Malone, Oswego Middle School

  • Jennifer Flower, Argyle Central School


2011: Nick Lawrence, East Bronx Academy

2010: Randal Tyner, Jackson Heights Elementary, Glens Falls School District  

2009: Lisa LaBrake and Peter Dobmeier, Sweet Home HS

2008: Madonna Figura, Wellsville HS

2007: Peter Mahan, Hannibal HS

© 2021 NYS EMTA.